top of page


The Historical Society of The United Methodist Church promotes interest in the study, preservation, and dissemination of the history and heritage of The United Methodist Church and its antecedents. It works to enlist the support and cooperation of commission on archives and history (or equivalent) at the annual conference, jurisdictional conference, and general Church levels as well as other interested agencies and organizations in the promotion of the historical interests of the Church. The society is financially self-supporting through dues and other sources, except for such services as may be provided by the General Conference Commission on Archives and History.

(Paraphrased from ¶1710.1 of the 2016 Book of Discipline)



President: Ivan G. Corbin
Vice-Pres.: Douglas D. Tzan
Secretary: Sarah Mount Elewononi
Treasurer: Kerri Shoemaker



At Large Representative: Duane Coates

At Large Representative: John Finley

At Large Representative: Janet Mills

GCAH Representative: Linda Schramm

GCAH General Secretary: Ashley Boggan Dreff

Editors, Historian's Digest: Mike Feely & Debbie Corbin
Membership Secretary: Chris Shoemaker


bottom of page